Our Lady Baquette

Today I’ve been baking madly, that wasn’t the smartest thing to do regarding that the heat in Warsaw lurks somewhere around 40 degrees, but…. wait wait I have a good but…. I simply couldn’t stop myself. Weekends are those very few days when I can step into the duty of cooking and it is making me very happy indeed. A week or so ago I got a new issue of “Kuchnia” – a Polish gourmand magazine, and I spotted there an article about baking French way. In the morning my mom asked me to cook sth cold and as she saw on my blog Cesar Salad version 2.0, she was almost like this guy from “Little Britain” – “I want that one!”… anyway… I thought that I need fresh bread to go with the salad and baquette seemed as perfect idea.

At first I wasn’t very happy with how the dough rolled out… it seemed too hard, too compact… I freaked out to be honest, but after long and hard work on the structure I managed to get it the way I wanted. Of course I had to adjust the recipe, because 3 cups of flour for 1 cup of water are way too many! After all I’m very happy how the bread turned out and I’m sure I’ll be baking another tomorrow… or maybe even two as Historian and Daddy were fighting over the last slices 😉

Our Lady Baquette (adapted from “Kuchnia” 7/2010)

1 bag of dried yeats

2,5 cup flour

1 tbsp salt

1 cup warm water


Disolve yeats in the warm water and let stand for 5 mins. Add flour and work the dough until nice and smooth – for at least 10 mins. In case it keeps sticking to your palms add more flour. Set aside in a bowl and let it rise for 45-60 mins. Then take it out and give it a quick fold and roll, then set aside for another 15 mins. Form the baquette and place on the baking tray lined with a baking paper, let rise for 30 mins or untill it doubles its size. Cut cross wise before putting in the oven. Preheat the oven to 230 degrees, on the bottom of the oven place a bowl with cold water (1-2 cups). Place the tray with the baquette in the middle of the oven. Bake for 20 mins or until it gives the hollow sound when knocked on. Take out and let it cool. Enjoy with garlic butter 🙂

The baquette was a great hit. It was moist but with nice crunchy crust. Dad said that it reminded him of the baquettes one could get in France in small boulangeries and it was the complement that made my day. Historian was mesmerized by it and already started to ask if I would bake another for dinner. Thankfully I managed to convince him that we can have one tomorrow 😉

po Polsku

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, bread, food talk, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Our Lady Baquette

  1. Pingback: Nasza Pani Bagietka | Gotująca Dandyska

  2. squonky says:

    That looks wonderful and you’ve encouraged me to try making some French bread myself. It’s something I’ve often wanted to do, but I didn’t know how well it might turn out.

    I’ve been baking today myself. A 100% whole-wheat loaf, using honey to “power” the yeast. Maybe tomorrow I will try to make a baguette.

    • ladymorgiana says:

      Would you care to share the recipe for the bread you baked? I’m very fond on baking and bread is one of my favourite. There’s sth very satisfying in baking bread, isn’t it? Maybe I’ll sound pretencious but it’s the power of the wrists that give you the best bread 😉
      Anyway, your bread sounds lovely, it reminds me of the bread we have in Poland – it’s dark, whole-wheat, with honey but based on leaven instead of yeats 🙂
      Baquette is a quick bake, I like this recipe because it’s simple and doesn’t need long time to rise properly, neither it requires de-gasing…
      Thanks again for passing by!

      • squonky says:

        Hey, thanks for sharing the French bread recipe. I will be trying it out for myself soon. Here’s the recipe for the loaf I made, although I halved the quantities as the recipe is for two 8 inch loaves.

        Ingredients :-

        1 tablespoon active dry yeast
        2 1/2 cups warm water
        2 tablespoons honey
        2 tablespoons molasses (I substituted with more honey as I didn’t have any molasses to hand)
        2 teaspoons table salt
        1/4 cup melted butter
        6 cups whole wheat flour

        Dissolve the yeast in a large bowl using 1/2 cup of the warm water. Stir in the molasses, honey, salt and melted butter. Add the remaining water and the flour cup by cup until the dough becomes hard to stir.

        Turn the dough out onto a flour dusted work surface and let it rest while you clean out and grease the bowl (I smeared it with a little more butter).

        Knead the dough for about 8 to 10 minutes, until it becomes smooth and loses most of its tackiness.

        Return it to the greased bowl and cover, let it rise until about double in size – could take about 2 hours.

        Punch the dough down then shape it as required or place it in loaf tins. (I plaited mine). Cover with a towel and let it rise for about an hour.

        Bake at 350F, 175C (Gas Mark 4). The original recipe said for 45 minutes, but I gave it about 1/2 hour before I checked it and then gave it about another 5 minutes as I wasn’t using loaf tins. I’d just plaited the bread and popped it onto a baking tray, dusted with more flour before baking. I judged that it was “done” by the colour. Sorry – I know that’s a bit vague :^)

        Most of this loaf was eaten fresh last night, but I had some of it toasted with honey for breakfast this morning. Just one crust end left from it now :^)

  3. ladymorgiana says:

    Thanks for sharing! I will give it a try next weekend 🙂 First I need some good whole wheat flour. It sounds delicious though, no wonder that all was gone so quickly 🙂
    I made another batch of baquettes in the morning and not much is left for dinner 😉

    • squonky says:

      I would offer to send you a loaf of this in exchange for one of your baguettes. It’s a shame that the postal service would be highly unlikely to get it to you in an edible condition.

      Your French bread recipe is next on my list, just a matter of finding a bit of time one evening.

      Will keep checking back to see what else you come up with :^)

  4. Kasia says:

    Oh wow, that would eb a great exchange indeed 🙂 where are you located? asking out of curiosity 😉
    oh yes, plz do 🙂 this weekend I have huge baking plans – we are having family celebration and I’m going to bake at least 2 kinds of cookies and 1 bread… but I’m aiming for 3 sweet things 🙂

    • squonky says:

      Sorry for the late reply. It has been a busy week. The weekend is here at last and I should shortly be getting around to baking this French bread. I will have the house to myself so I can put some music on to really get some energy into the kneading :^)

      I live just a few miles outside the city of Leicester, about 100 miles north of London. I guess a quick Google Maps link to the general area would be in order :-

      http://tinyurl.com/32bav8h

      • Kasia says:

        LOL thanks for google map, but I know where you’re located 🙂 I lived in London for a while and England is one of my favourite countries 🙂
        wooo hoo, french bread for you today? Lovely! I will post what I baked yesterday but this will be after a whole wheat bread I’m about to start making 🙂 Can’t wait for your feedback about the French bread 🙂

  5. squonky says:

    Ooh the bread was good :^) So good that it didn’t last long enough for me to take a photo! I’ll certainly be making it again. The only thing I was disappointed with was the texture, but I think that was down to me rather than your recipe. I didn’t get the nice big open bubble texture, the crumb was quite dense. It was my first attempt and I know that I did make a mistake at one point which led to me “flattening” the bread an extra time. I will certainly make it again and see if I can improve on the texture.

    So, whereabouts are you now?

  6. Kasia says:

    mine tried to crawl out the bowl few minutes ago. So I just kned it again and now I see it rising the cloth on the bowl, so it’s the time for shaping. The texture in French bread might be as well due to the poor atmospheric preassure – it happened to me with the first batch, the second a day later was much better… what a pity about the lack of the photo! I will try to update the blog asap 🙂 damn the bread is trying to escape the bowl again! bloody Hudini 😉

  7. squonky says:

    Doh – of course – Warsaw *slaps head*

    Hehe – sounds like you have some very active yeast there :^)

    I will be baking it again and when I do then I’ll make sure to take some photos. I was just keen to slice into it and take a bite, and once I’d done that – well, it was history :^)

  8. Kasia says:

    Well to be honest I adjusted your recipe a bit and based it on the fresh yeats. As it seems we managed to get them very fresh yesterday and the little buggers are growing madly. The loafs are shaped and waiting to get into the oven, but the bread smells heavenly. Can’t wait to have the baked nice and crunchy 🙂
    Warsaw is indeed in the weird atmospheric preassure zones and sometimes it takes ages for cakes to rise. But according to myself it’s all about good kneding, it you roll out and roll back the dough enough times, and smash the dough at least 5 times against working surface it will rise just fine and the texture shall be perfect them. Again I always let the dough rise twice before shaping and then it’s the third rise which improves the texture as well. Did you remeber to bake it with the small dish of water on the bottom of the oven?

Leave a Reply

