What’s the Story Morning Glory?

I’m not a morning person, really… I prefer a lazy start into a day, with my cup of tea and newspaper. I hate rushing around, when I’m still half asleep, but again I’m not stay-long-in-bed kind of person. I wake up quickly and then I prefer to get up and wander around in my pjs, sipping my coffee and chasing Smeagol. It’s obvious enough that I hardly get those mornings, but every time I’m alone it’s my treat. To be completely honest with you this wasn’t one of those weekends… when  Historian is around I always get up too late, coz he thinks that morning is for a serious chats and I’m usually annoyed beyond recognition as I’m hungry., but after months of being we agreed or better worked out the system that suits best both of us. So as this morning Historian was rushing me around to get me to eat sth, I had to force him to stop and anwser the magical question – “What do you want for breakfast?”, he anwsered as usual “Whatever you make suits me just fine…”, so the anwser followed: “We don’t have whatever, they are hard to get”… so Historian gave up and said: “Pancakes with apples would be great!”… so here we go…  Those aren’t pancakes as Americans do, we call them racuchy and every family does them differently, so first step was a fight how to cut the apples, as Historian is as stubborn as me and refused using the decorer (“what the fuck are you handing me???”) and sliced the apples with Shoemaker’s precision…. but whatever 😉 as long as those were apples and not his fingers suits me just fine. As I was frying them Historian assisted the whole time and I was wondering when will he start stealing food from plate, but he was brave 😉 When I reached for the cam, he looked at me and said: “Are you going to blog about them? They are just racuchy – so everyday food” and he made me laugh, simply because he still doesn’t really understand the idea of food blog… he will adjust, sooner or later….

Racuchy z Jabłkami or Pancakes with Apples – to feed 2-3

(kill me I am somehow not sure about the proportions anymore)

about 8 spoonfulls of flour

250ml milk

2 eggs (yolks and egg whites seperate)

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 apples peeled and sliced

Mix flour and baking soda, add yolks and as much milk that the batter is like a thick double cream. Beat the egg whites into soft peaks. Mix in gently. Heat up the frying pan and pour just enough oil to fat it. With a spoon make four small pancakes, place the slice of apple on each and cover it with a little bit of batter. Fry until golden on both sides, turning them as you go. Repeat until you run out of batter and apples. Serve warm with caster sugar, cream, jam or whatever you want 🙂 Enjoy


About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, food talk, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

