I’m Never Happy When It Rains….

…. I’m seriously not… it’s been raining cats and dogs for 3 days right now and I got sick, which isn’t surprising after getting my feet soak wet three times in a row. I woke up feeling dizzy and all weak, so I called in sick and crawled back to bed. As the they proceeded I started to feel slightly better, but I still can’t argue with myself if I’m better or not…

This week has been weird to me. Things are happening, the weather is dreadfull and both Historian and I are working long. Two days ago a friend of whom I thought was lost got bak in touch via FB – after 16 years!! Wow… simply wow! So as I’m enjoying catching up with an old/new friend, it all got me thinking about the meaning of life and its mysterious ways, as its doings are rather comforting. Amazingly two people whose ways seperated long time ago, and chose different paths still have loads in common. It’s comforting, isn’t it?!

Since I’m not well, I decided I needed a treat – something what would be healthy and cheering up, but not fatting as I’m not active while spending day in bed. Healthy cookies are almost an oxymorone, seriously… think about it… cookies are all about sugar and chocolate and white flour, nothing healthy right? But those are different – based on oatmeal, honey, raisins and dried cranberries they seem almost as muesli in cookie form. That’s why I call them Heal Me Quick Cookies.Β  They are simple to make, quick to bake and healthy πŸ™‚

Heal Me Quick Cookies

(makes about 30)

500g oatmeal

200 ml sunflower oil

3 spoonfuls honey

2 spoonfuls sugar

3 eggs

4 spoons flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

raisins, dried cranberries, chopped chocolate

Mix oatmeal with oil, honey, sugar and 2 spoons of cinnamon . Let sit for 2 hours.Β  Afterwards mix in the eggs, flour, baking soda and dried fruits.Β  Place small portions of the batter on the tray lined with paper. Bake in preheated to 200C oven untill golden brown.

Those can be store for quite long in the airtight container, but at ours they never last till the next day πŸ™‚ Enjoy without bad consciousΒ  – they are healthy πŸ˜‰

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, cookies, oatmeal, recipe, soul food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I’m Never Happy When It Rains….

  1. hopeeternal says:

    These sound delicious and simple. I have printed it off and will give them a go sometime. Thanks for the recipe!
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings thorough my Cookbook’
    http://www.hopeeternalcookbook.wordpress.com

    • ladymorgiana says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ they are simple to bake and very lovely as a breakfast treat…. or when you’re trying to keep a man off the unhealthy sweets πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for stopping by! Do tell me when you bake them, I would love to get some feedback πŸ™‚

  2. hopeeternal says:

    I wanted something quick and easy to make for a friend who was coming for coffee this evening and these fitted the bill, so I had a go at making them. You did not give particular quantities but I added 125g dried cranberries and 50g white chocolate chips and made 32 cookies in all. I took it that you meant tablespoon for the honey, sugar and flour as you had specified a teaspoon for the baking soda (I used baking powder). My only concern was that 200ml seemed rather a lot of oil and it felt a lot as I poured it into the bowl. The last dozen seemed to fry on the oven sheet! We found the taste of the finished cookies delicious but a bit oily! I wonder if the oil quantity is correct – please could you check it. Thanks!
    hopeeternal
    β€˜Meanderings through my Cookbook’
    http://www.hopeeternalcookbook.wordpress.com

  3. ladymorgiana says:

    Maybe it depends on the oatmeal ( I had a kind we call mountain oatmeal)… those in Poland seemed to need 200ml (3/4 of a cup) of oil, but since maybe those at yours are different you could easily cut the amount to 150ml. Teaspoon is for a me a small spoon one uses to stir tea with or eat eat yogurt with πŸ™‚ I think it’s about 5g. and spoon is a regular table spoon – the one you eat soup with :)I didn’t precise the amount of fruits simply because all depends how much dried fruits suits you fine in cookies. I like then it’s loads of them… but it’s personal thing. Hope it helps πŸ™‚ but thanks for telling me about your experience! Did you let the oatmeal with oil and honey soak for 2 hours?

    • hopeeternal says:

      Thanks for the info – I didn’t realise you were in/from Poland! A teaspoon (one you stir your tea with, as you say) is 5g and a tablespoon is 15g. It may well be because of the oats as I used rolled oats, the type we make porridge with here in the UK. I think I could probably halve the oil if I made them again. Never mind – we will still eat them up!
      h/e

  4. ladymorgiana says:

    I’m quite sure it’s because of oats πŸ™‚ The one I used (I just noticed) are an express version of rolled oats (so you don’t have to cook them, just cover with hot liquid). Btw, I love British porridge and UK πŸ™‚ Fantastic, so I’ll treat it as complement that you didn’t realize I’m located in Poland πŸ™‚ You just made my day! Anyway, to be honest I never bothered with how many gramms is a spoon πŸ˜‰ but it reminds me that when I first baked sth from American recipe I had few doubts πŸ™‚ Thank you again!

    • hopeeternal says:

      Glad to have made your day, especially as you have been unwell.
      I realised after I wrote that I should have put 5ml for a teaspoon and 15ml for a tablespoon, not grams – it was rather late when I wrote! With recipes from online, some you win and some you lose, I have found. Best to make a half quantity if it seems risky. We are still eating the cookies, but I may use any leftover ones as part of a crumble topping for stewed fruit and reduce the fat content normally put in crumble.
      h/e

  5. ladymorgiana says:

    they sound good as a topping for stewed fruits πŸ™‚ Well… you know I’m always there to experiment πŸ˜‰ when sth doesn’t work I fix it or do it as it seems just right for my needs πŸ™‚ I’m a stressless cook πŸ˜›

  6. Generally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I wish to
    say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

Leave a Reply

