An Apple A Day…. Keeps Doctor Away….

I’m still ill, it’s been almost a week and I’m still coughing my lungs out and stranded on the couch. The cold decided to take away my apetite with most of my energy to that, but yesterday I had a shot of energy and I started to crave a cake. You know how it is, right? When one hardly feels like eating, and then the craving comes… so I dragged my ass out of bed and wanted a quick but rewarding treat. The idea probably came after reading way too many foodblogs over the days, as it’s the only thing next to the telly I could focus on. And doesn’t the old saying go “an apple a day, keeps the doctor away”?, so I decided that I want apple pie. Last summer when in my godmother’s garden apples were growing in tons, we made some apple filling preservations, which were still standing in the basement. They made it easier for me to bake the cake which I was craving.

The experiment was very sucessful indeed. The crumble on the bottom was nice and didn’t get too soft under the apples, the top crumble was crunchy and stayed like that even overnight. The pie is quick to make, plus it bakes nice and easy.  My grannie called that kind of pies “pagaj” – which means “paddle” in slang, but describes as well a kind of flat and rather thin pie, which is quick to bake and usually made as an every-day snack. Something baked quickly when the unexpected guests just knocked on your door… and when my grannie lived our house was like that, one never knew if some friends just wouldn’t come over. Happy memories, I must say. So with all that in mind I baked my pie, and we loved it. Dad wanted to eat it warm and it was delicious. I had some for breakfast with a mug of warm milk and it was fantastic… so why don’t you bake yourself a little pie?

Apple Crumble on Crumble Pie

(for a small tray)

bottom crumble:

2 cups flour

3 spoons margarine

1 pack vanilla sugar

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

cinnamon

filling:

a jar of your favourite apples, or about 1/2 kg of apples peeled and steamed with sugar and cinnamon (or any other fruits – imagination is the limit)

top crumble:

1 cup flour

2 spoons margarine

3/4 cups sugar

cinnamon

method: mix all ingredients into crumble. Place neatly on the bottom of the greased baking tray , press tightly to the bottom. Put the filling on the top. Mix all ingredients of the top crumble and cover with it the filling. Put into the over preheated to 200 C, and bake until the top crumble is gold brown. Enjoy warm or cold, with a scoop of ice cream or a glass of milk.

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, cake, food talk, recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Apple A Day…. Keeps Doctor Away….

  1. Chef Dennis says:

    Be still my heart!!! crumble under the apples too….sigh…it sounds like heaven on a plate!

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Denis, well it is… it’s all gone by now and I wish I could had some ice cream with it, when it was still warm from the oven….

  3. Debbie says:

    Double Crumble, WHOA! I have a bunch of apples from apple picking this past weekend and crumbles are my favorite, thanks!

  4. ladymorgiana says:

    Thanks Debbie 🙂 indeed double crumble works miracles 😉 I hope you will enjoy it! Let me know how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

