Going Bananas…

… literally and figuratively as I’m still ill and stranded home. The side effect of that illness is a total loss of apetite, followed by the shrinkage of my stomach so I really eat only tiny, yesteraday four spoons of risotto filled me up. Every foodie will agree with me that  it’s highly annoying, am I right? Today I woke up hungry, which was nice, and as I went to the kitchen and spotted bananas which my dad brought me, as they are tiny bombs of vitamins and elements and with 135kcal per banana they give enough energy to keep one going, what makes them the best natural fastfood there is. Anyway, after living in the French part of Switzerland I like my breakfasts sweet, so my mind started to go around bananas and way I could have them on breakfast. Then I remembered a dish from China which is usually served for desert – fried bananas…. and then I knew what I wanted – banana pancakes 🙂

Those aren’t classical pancakes, because that would be boring. The batter is thin and the inside are the quarters of banana, which deliciously melt. The delicate taste of cleared butter on which I fried them, gives them a tenderness I was craving. They are light and not stuffy, so I consider them my favourite quick breakfast for now.

Crispy Banana Pancakes

(for 2)

2-3 ripe bananas peeled and quartered

1 egg

2 spoons flour

sparkling water

1/3 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Whisk together egg, flour and enough sparkling water to make a thick batter (the consistance should be the one of a heavy cream), which in baking soda, salt and cinnamon. On the frying pan melt 2 spoons of cleared butter. Dip the quarters of bananas in batter and fry till golden brown from both sides. Serve with some powdered sugar or yogurt. Enjoy 🙂

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in banana, breakfast, food talk, pancakes, recipe, soul food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Going Bananas…

  1. I am sorry to hear that your illness robe your appetite. However, I hope your appetite will return soon. Fried bananas is also very popular dessert among the Malaysian. We have stores on the road side selling this dessert and it is so cheap. Usually not more than 50sen a piece. Your recipe of banana pancakes sounds interesting and I am going to have it for breakfast one morning. Thanks for sharing and get well soon:D

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thanks! I appreaciate your best wishes a lot 🙂 So it seems that fried bananas are typical for the most of orient countries, plz tell me how do you do them? Are they deep fried like in China? I hope that you will enjoy my recipe though 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. hopeeternal says:

    What a great idea and especially useful for when you have a glut of bananas. I shall have to store this away for future use – occasional though because of the frying, which I try to avoid too much! Thanks…
    Get well soon.
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings through my Cookbook’
    http://www.hopeeternalcookbook.wordpress.com

  4. Peggy says:

    Hope you fell better soon! These pancakes look great! Can’t wait to try them out soon!

  5. ladymorgiana says:

    Big thanks Peggy and Hope! Hope I remember vising your blog some time ago and I loved it! Thanks for stopping by. Indeed frying could be a problem, but one can always reduce the amount of fat or maybe even try non-stick (fatless frying) pan. Thank you again for your kind words 🙂

Leave a Reply

