Eating Swiss?

I just came back from the prolonged weekend in Switzerland, went to meet old friends, very old and not long-seen-friend, meet new FB friends and finally to divorce. This trip was indeed into a memory lane, but it felt good to some extend. I remembered how much I missed living in Switzerland (I lived there for 5 years), but as well it gave me the opportunity to discover again the long forgotten tastes. Since Mr. D came along, I found it extremely enjoyable to introduce him into tastes new to him and his British tastebuds πŸ˜‰

This time we were staying in Zurich, which is a fantastic place to try all different foods. As every big city the various influences mingle there and one can choose from Swiss kitchen for starters down to sushi or thai as a topping. Since we travelled on a rather tight budget (and Switzerland is an expensive country), we mostly sticked to the places where normal people dine πŸ™‚ what was more than rewarding. One of such spots is Johanniter on the Niederdorf, that offers bier and traditional Swiss food on the descent prices. That evening I took Roesti with bacon and egg ( a dish made of ruffled potatos roasted with becon and cheese and then topped with a fried egg) and Mr. D was introduced to the Zurcher Geschnetzeltes (stripes of beef cooked in a thick creamy sauce with mashrooms), and both were absolutely fantastic. Next to Johanniter is Rheinfelder Bierhalle, that serves as well fantastic Swiss food on the very descent prices.

Mr D and I were lucky enough to catch a fantastic sunny weekend, the weather was perfect for picknicking and since Limmat is simply a welcoming spot we enjoyed our breakfasts, lunches and numerous coffee/tea breaks at the river banks. I know that Mr D will kill me for putting here those pics, but I still really like them and just to give you the idea πŸ˜‰

Mr D enjoying his breakfast and trying to tell me off for taking morning pictures

I introduced Mr D to Zopf, a delicate bread made with lots of butter, that is nice and fluffy and can be practically eaten just as it is. To that we usually had Β Fleischkaese (kind of pate that can be eaten or as a cold cut – finely sliced, or hot), some Swiss cheese, ham or salami from Ticcino (an Italian canton, known for its fantastic cold cuts of all kinds). As one can see on the pic a coffee from Starbucks was a must πŸ˜‰ In Zurich Starbucks are everywhere, and coffee is really descent as for the fact that it is Starbucks πŸ˜‰

When discovering the Swiss cusine, one musn’t forget about typical Swiss fastfood (no, not McDonalds πŸ˜‰ ). Switzerland is fairly known of its sausages. Like in most of the countries with germanic/alpean origin sausage is a must, and the best when it’s grilled, served with mustard and a nice chunk of bread.

Near the spot where we used to picknick the most we found this little imbis bar with different sausages. The thing was that I wanted to take Mr D to Metzkerei (Butcher’s shop) so that he would try a real deal, but he refused walking back to the old town and insisted on trying the sausages in that one particular place. I had to give in, as I really forced the poor guy to walk loads during the weekend, so I had no heart to force him walk some more for his lunch when he was starving… seemingly he didn’t mind:

We had cervelats with Bueri. Cervelat is a kind of a rather thick sausage – sth like a giant, fat hot dog, and Bueri is just a bun baked farmer style. It’s very simple but at the same time very rewarding snack, it suits perfectly for an afternoon at the river πŸ™‚

These lovelies I spotted while we were walking around the old town. Β I found them pretty adorable and was rather happy that shop was closed or I would need to buy some πŸ˜‰ Yeah, I do have a sweet tooth… I can’t deny that πŸ˜‰ Switzerland is not only a country of great chocolate (and I’m so NOT arguing here about the superiority of Swiss chocolate over the Belgium chocolate) but as well the country of fantastic patestries. In Baeckerei (Bakery) and Tea Rooms one can buy almost every cake one can only dream of…. wish I had more time to take pics of those… yummy!

And finally this pic doesn’t have much to do with food, but it does πŸ˜‰ On Saturday we met with my dear friends Mr Quack and Whimpie, and before movies we went to the Thai restaurant. The food was great, I had my all time favourite Green Curry, which came as a nice thick soup served with a heart of rice, but I let the rice out and simply ate my curry as a soup. Mr D had chicken wings, which came on the plate decorated with an orchid. After the meal I was trying to steal his flower, but got it offered anyway – so for the rest of the evening and next day I walked around with an orchid in my hair…. only the night I came back to the hotel, I realised that the flower must had some grease from the chicken… so my hair had a faint scent of chicken wings thai style πŸ˜‰

Thank you Mr D for comming to Zurich with me! I had a fantastic time with you and all my great Swiss friends – especially big thanks for Mr Quack and Whimpie πŸ™‚ You’re the best ❀

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in food talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eating Swiss?

  1. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

