Nightmare Before Christmas

I have a confession to make, it’s nothing one wouldn’t know about me, but I really love Halloween. I love practically everything about it – pumpkin carving, weirdly looking food and all the spookiness around it, dressing up included. So this year it was Halloween dinner or burst! I started the new school two weeks ago (did I mention that? I got accepted to the certified translators school at Collegium Civitas in Warsaw, and yes I’m dead proud of myself πŸ™‚ of course it means less time for cooking and blogging but I will do my best! Cross my heart!) so every second weekend I have 18 hours of classes in total, which left me with just 3 hours to get my party ready. Β Thanks to a little bit of help from my mom (she was a darling and carved the pumpkin) I managed somehow… unfortunately my oven decided to die just in the nick of time, so monster toes got ready on the crisp plate in microwave :S

Thankfully despite the whole dead-oven-situation they worked just perfect and everybody loved them. They are simple and effective, one can’t call them great cooking, as those are just hot dogs in tortilla with a mustard, but still make fantastic finger food… so to say πŸ˜‰

I made a batch of fantastic Pumpkin Swirl Brownies… which didn’t come out very swirly but still lovely and goey… they are to be blamed for my oven to give it’s last breath upon πŸ˜› They are easy peasy to make and recipe is by Martha Stewart, so I just click click

The main dish was pumpkin soup πŸ™‚ which I make every year for Halloween – it’s yellow and spicey and keeping one warm. Recipe is straight forward and takes less than an hour to make πŸ™‚ What elese one needs? Historian loved it very much – he said it was the best pumpkin soup ever πŸ™‚

It’s all in Ginger Jack-O-Lantern Soup

3/4 of 5kg pumpkin of your choice (the one used for Jack)

3 l of broth of your choice with veggies on which you cooked it

4 big onions diced

20cm of fresh ginger root peeled and sliced

curry powder

salt, pepper

2 sticks of cinammon

on the olive oil fry together ginger and onion, add cut pumpkin. Pour in the broth and add cinnamon and cut veggies from broth. Let cook for about 30 mins. The spice it up, fish out the cinnamon and blitz until nice and smooth. You can add more pumpkin if you fancy, or less broth. It’s all up to you. Serve hot with fresh bread.

Happy belated Halloween to all of you! Mr. D thank you for chosing those for me! All my guests were totally freaked out! And neither Historian, nor Mom or Mania Β dared to look me in the eye πŸ™‚ Sexy Mommy thought those were hilarious πŸ˜€ Thanks again my Guests for being there with me πŸ™‚

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, cake, chocolate, cookies, food talk, ginger, Halloween, Martha Stewart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

