Coziness

I’m still ill, it’s more than obvious that with infection like those it will be longer than just three days. Bronhitits seems to be putting me on the waiting bench, as I hardly have any power or appetite… It’s nothing new either, but highly annoying. And I’m craving comfort and coziness, either from blankie, Smeagol or food. As I can’t cook (yes no cake, as my dad found me pale in the kitchen working frantically on the meringue and sent me back to bed – huge preaching included πŸ˜› ) I’ve been reading tons of food blogs, as it’s the only thing that I can focus on.

Then I remembered when lived in Switzerland had this wonderful blogging friend who was American in Fribourg. When she was home sick, she always had a stash of boxed ma’n’cheese to comfort her. On the other hand one of the national Swiss dishes are Alpermagroni, which are pretty close to maccaroni and cheese but always freshly made with delicious Swiss cheese. And since I’m ill got very sentimental. Don’t ask me why…. I have no idea, seriously. Maybe my last trip to Zurich made me realized how much I miss living abroad, and the company I had during those days sent me down the memory lane as well.Β  So I had this idea of mac’n’cheese rambling in my mind today, and I thought – what the heck?! Maybe this could give me some strengh and power.

So I started to remind myself the classical recipe for Alpenmagroni, which I used to love. The recipe is straight forward and needs no baking just like boxed mac’n’cheese.Β  I decided that I needed classical Alpenmagroni with a twist. And minus apple sauce, which was never my favourite addition to that dish πŸ˜‰


Alpenmagroni or Twisted Mac’n’Cheese Alpine Style

(feeds 1 – but easy to multiply)

50g of grated cheese your choice (best is Swiss of course)

2 table spoons sour cream

3 slices ham, cut

1 small onion sliced

in a small pot fry quickly onion, add ham and fry for few more minutes. Add cream and cheese, whisk until melted and combined. Season with salt and pepper. Add cooked and drained noodles (best are penne or “elbows”) – about 50-100g. Mix until combined. Enjoy


About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in cheese, food talk, pasta, recipe, soul food, Switzerland, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coziness

  1. Sandra says:

    Yum..that look fantastic and comforting! I hope that you feel better soon!

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Sandra πŸ™‚ and yes it was very comforting!

  3. Chef Dennis says:

    I hope you feel better soon! your mac and cheese looks delicious..and I think leaving out the applesauce was a good decision!!

  4. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Dennis! I hope so too, as this bronhitis is more than annoying! Indeed, but in Switzerland is quite popular to serve mac’n’cheese with apple sauce, which is just apples stewed with water and sugar, very weird….

  5. Irena says:

    I hope you are getting better. Your ideas are so interesting. Perhaps it is also good to eat Polish chicken broth.
    http://www.radiopik.pl/podcast/feed.php?cat=porady_pani_stefanii
    Keep warm
    Irena

  6. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Irene πŸ™‚ There’s nothing better than a warm broth πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

