Dream A Little Dream Of Me

My bronhitis seemed to decided it likes me way too much to leave me already. So I started a new week with fever and annoying cough, that can only means longer stay in bed. This gives me plenty time to read food blogs and to chat with friends, what is always nice. Yesterday we throughly discussed Christmas food, as that’s the most important part for my family. As Christmas is about friends and food, family and food and good times together… because what is more spiritual than closeness  of those we love? There will be loads of baking (we planned 3 classical cakes) and tons of cooking. I have a project roasted ham for New Years, which I need to research for a perfect result. Any ideas and suggestions are more than welome!

For now I’m trying to get better again, and thank you all for all the wishes and warm words! Means a lot to me! Unfortunately bronhitis keeps me off the kitchen for the most of times, but I’m rebelious and only keep to those quick dishes  treat myself with, especially that  my appetite disappeared somewhere. But those are the small things – treats, chats, phonecalls and txts that are keep me going through the day. Who said that the best must be big?

Today I decided that I need a breakfast treat – pancakes. Very simple and quick to make. Sweet, as I was craving something sweet, but that could be easily made into a savour treat as well. Based on quark or curd cheese, so this kind of a fresh slightly sour cheese, very moist and nice. The best is of course Polish, but it’s German and Swiss versions were acceptable as well. Swiss quark is more creamy and reminds of philadelphia cheese, but they have a curd cheese called Zieger, which is sweet and in taste resembles riccota but the stracture is the one of polish twaróg. Wikipedia says that curd cheese/quark can be found as well in US, Canada and UK so all I can suggest is – please give it a go! There’s no better cheesecake than one made of curd cheese/quark, there’s no better breakfast than a nice slice of quark with favourite jam or quark with sour cream and radishes, cucumber and spring onion. So rewarding, so healthy and such an easy treat.


My little pancakes were made of pancake batter, quark and raisins. But could be done savour (yes Big Guy I remember you like your food savour) when one exchanges sugar for salt and spices, and raisins for spring onion, onion or bits of chilli. Imagination is the limit! Now the recipe:


Happy Pancakes

(makes 7-8)

1 egg

3 table spoons flour

100ml milk

1/2 tea spoon baking soda

1 table spoon sugar

100g curd cheese/quark

handfull raisins

Beat together egg and milk. Add the flour and baking soda. Make sure that the batter is thick as sour cream. Add crumbled quark, sugar and raisins. Mix all well. Heat the frying pan and put some oil, with a spoon put small portions of batter and fry until golden and done. Enjoy with cream, sugar or maple siroup.

For the salty version don’t add any sugar, but some salt and spices or herbs. And exchanged the raisins for nicely chopped spring onion and chilli. Or anything that tickles your fancy.


About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, cheese, curd, food talk, pancakes, quark, recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dream A Little Dream Of Me

  1. big guy says:

    mmmmm….pancakes look good. great photos again. look like could fill a hole on a cold winters morning!

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thankies Mr D 🙂 Had great light this morning 🙂 Yeah they were tasty 😀 and I think I need to check the salty version as well 🙂

  3. Chef Dennis says:

    what a great recipe! I have to try and find Quark now so I can give them a try!
    Thanks so much for such a great recipe!!
    Feel better
    Dennis

  4. ladymorgiana says:

    Well Dennis… there’s a little secret 😉 you can make Quark yourself 🙂 Let me find you recipe 🙂 Thank you! I’m so happy you like it! Working on getting better thing 🙂 Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

