Comfort Me With a Bread

When I work never have problems with breakfast. I usually go to the shop accross the street from my office and choose something that tickles my fancy. Since I’m sick all I have to my disposal is pantry at home, and the tastes of me and my parents seem to be quite different, but fever keeps me home. Yes, you might ask why am I living with my parents, so the anwser is simple – after my ex-husband sent me away (now I’m wondering how am I allowed to word it, as he and his new partner aren’t happy when I mention the situation) there was only one place where I could come back – and it was home. So that’s a short story.


Anyway, as you might noticed I started to grow tired of regular breakfast and keep on trying something new.Ā  I remember watching once Nigella’s Express and saw her doing a croissant pudding, and it got stuck in my head. Last night I was sleepless thanks to the cough and as I was reading the thought of breakfast bread pudding started to get clear. No, no dear Readers, it wasn’t a cook book but a a crime novel and yes I’m weird, that’s the fact.


Because of bronhitis I’m focusing on eating only what is good for me, so I started to think how to make bread pudding to be healthy and yummy. I’m not much of Nigella myself, not a huge fun of highly caloric food prefer simple pleasures.Ā  Instead of croissants (which I didn’t have anyway) I took whole wheat toasts and plain yogurt, raisins and dammara sugar. The pudding came out delicious. Not too sweet, but completely rewarding and let’s say healthy. It’s a perfect treat for a breakfast, not too heavy but delightful. The portion is for one person, but it’s easy to multiply for your needs. One can eat it plain or with a splash of natural yogurt for the complete pleasure of sweet and sour tastes. The name came from the fact that I was watching Doctor Who when I was cooking šŸ™‚


Doctor Who Bread Pudding

(for 1 but easy to multiply)

2 whole wheat toasts diced big

1 tea spoon cleared butter

1 handfull raisins

1-2 tea spoons dammara sugar

1 tea spoon cinnamon

1 egg

75g plain yogurt (1/2 container)

2 tea spoons sour cream

Fat the baking dish with butter, line it tightly with bread cubes, cover (or sprinkle) with dammara sugar and cinnamon, spread the raisins. In the cup mix together yogurth, cream and egg. Pour it over the bread, make sure it soaks through but don’t mix. Bake in 200C for about 20 minutes.

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, bread, breakfast, cinnamon, cream, pudding, recipe, whole wheat, yogurt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Comfort Me With a Bread

  1. That looks so delicious! I would eat breakfast more often if this were served to me šŸ™‚

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Lorraine! I’m just reading through your blog – girl your food looks delicious!

  3. Tes says:

    This bread pudding looks so comforting and sounds delicious. I can’t wait to try baking this. My whole family will love it šŸ™‚

  4. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Tes, it is indeed šŸ™‚ I hope that you will like it and so will your family šŸ™‚ Plz keep me posted how it worked out for you!

  5. Hi there, I would like to subscribe for this website to obtain latest updates,
    thus where can i do it please assist.

Leave a Reply

