Ham Genious…. or Genious Ham?

I’m sorry folks, but it’s true… today I’m stroking my ego flat, as the ham turned out to be a heaven in mouth, of course a caring soul of Historian brought me down to earth saying that there are thousands of people who cook as well as I do, so I’m nothing special… but c’mon I know better than that… I’m a genious and my ham proved it to me 😉 Enough of the silly talk, sorry for that ego trip hope you can all forgive me.

When we were planning holiday menu, we agreed that Dad’s making game for Christmas and the New Year’s Lunch is my duty. Of course we had to go to my Gran’s for New Years but ham was to be roasted anyway. On friday morning I took the meat from the deep freezer and let it taw, when it was ready I marinated it with the new spice by Kamis “Homemade ham with juniper” it’s called. The spice is made of sweet paprica, garlic, pepper, majoran and bay leaves, as the addition are the seeds of juniper, which one then pushes into the meat. The ham marinated for over 48 hours. After that time I took it out and rolled it tight (we had not the round muscle but the side one… still delicious) and placed it on the bed of onion and let it roast slowly 🙂 After one hour I took the lid off and made a glaze, with which I covered the meat and let it roast without lid for another hour, in between I was pouring the juices over the meat to keep it nice and moist. The meat was mouthwatering and delicious, almost melting in the mouth. The juices were reduced on big flame and then blitzed together with roasted onions into a golden sauce… it was sin on the plate…

Of course the only trouble with this ham is that one needs that spice, but I think that mixing the grounded spices shouldn’t be much of a challenge either for any of us foodies. Since it’s a New Year here’s a deal – my regular readers (you know who you are) – drop me a line or on FB or on email with your address and I’ll try to provide you with this spice. The Offer is limited to 8 people 🙂 So my Regulars! Don’t be shy 🙂

So enough talking and down to business… I know you’re all waiting for the recipe at last! It’s a rather quick (minus marinating, and roasting time), low efford roast but worth it… as you already noticed I’m a goddess of quick fixes, but everything has to be made from scratch, otherwise it doesn’t count, does it?

Homemade Ham with juniper and honey glaze

1,5 kg ham (unsalted, unprepared just a nice muscle)

1 pack of the homemade ham spice (or the mix of spices: garlic, paprica, bay leaf, pepper)

6 shallotte (or 2 onions) – sliced

2 tb spoons honey

1 tb spoon oil

1tb spoon apple vinigar

48 hours before planned roasting: coat the meat in the spice. Push in the juniper seed. The easiest done with small inceasions on the meat.

day of roasting: in the metal roasting dish (with lid) pour in some oil and fat the whole dish. On the bottom place the sliced onion/shalotte and put on the rolled and tied ham. Put the lid on and shove into oven preheated to 190C (160C with circulation). Roast for an hour.

After that time, mix together honey, vinigar and oil. It might take a while to combine the ingredients but keep on stiring. Take the roast out of the oven, remove the lid and spread the glaze evenly on the meat. Roast for another 1-1,2 hour without a lid. Every 30 mins pour the drippings over the meat to keep it moist.  When the ham’s done, take it out, let it rest and reduce the juices. Blitz for the smooth sauce. Enjoy your perfect ham 🙂

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, food talk, ham, honey, pork, recipe, soul food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ham Genious…. or Genious Ham?

  1. Sandra says:

    That ham looks so good and juicy..Yum! I could eat it all day long!

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Sandra you just made my day! Are you up for the spice? if yes email me 🙂

  3. This sounds like the flavors would be great! We don’t use Juniper in cooking much in the U.S. (that I’m aware of) but I love the idea of it. Also adding of the apple cider vinegar. I’m finding more and more uses for it to brighten flavors and the health benefits are so good!

  4. ladymorgiana says:

    I use quite a lot of juniper as I really love it’s fresh and almost balsamic taste 🙂 It really adds lots to the meat dishes, especially to chicken or pork. I even add juniper to my gingerbread spice, as it gives another dimension to the taste. True, cider vinegar is a great thing. When I lived in Switzerland my ex-mother-in-law always insisted that one should have a shot of if every day to make the stomach work properly 😉 Yeah Swiss are weird… I know 😛

  5. The Mom Chef says:

    Oh my goodness. I came over here from your guest post at Chef Dennis’ blog and just kept reading. I finally decided that I had to stop and leave a comment or I’d still be going. Every one of these recipes looks fantastic.

    I’m especially excited to see if I can find a selection of Polish recipes because my mother is Polish by heritage (she was born in Belgium but both of her parents were Polish). She married a French Armenian and that ended up being the food that we ate most. I would love to learn some Polish dishes.

  6. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you so much Momchef 🙂 I keep on fiddling with Polish recipes and I hope that those you can find here will be of your liking. My family comes from the Eastern part of Poland and therefore some of my home recipes are weirdly close to Russian ones 😉 Will try to cook more Polish food just for you 😉 and for others who wants to learn more about our culture

  7. davejwsbooks says:

    Reblogged this on Big Guys Tasty Food Blog and commented:
    Best food blog in my eyes! fact.

  8. davejwsbooks says:

    Love this recipe. Could eat Ham all day. Or any pork product to be honest 🙂

Leave a Reply

