I’m Dreaming of Travelling Far Away

I’m really sick and tired of this winter. It’s cold, and cold and snowy and rainy… yuck… the ice is taking over the pavements, so any attempt of wearing highheels is a hazzard of a kind and I hate the snow and the ice… I’m waiting for the summer, for the sun and picknics, for longer days and warmth. On friday night I was invited by a fellow belly dancer to the Arabic Night Party – and it was fun! We belly danced, we had tons of fantastic arabic food and it felt nice and cozy as the belly dancing is about the celebration of womenhood. Longer we sat there and talked I realised that this summer I need to go somewhere exotic, somewhere where never have been before… and slowly the plan is being made and I hope, that it will come true… I really need sun…

Enough of me being silly. The craving for something arabic was quite strong this weekend, and I really cooked last night but the beading of the new costume for the belly dance show in March robbed me blind of time to blog… will blog about it tomorrow. My costume is yellow and purple, so for a weird reason I was craving some yellow and totally crazy food. After a closer examination of the pantry I found what I needed, plus a nice piece of beef sirloin was located in the deep freezer. That was a pure bliss 🙂

As my mind was still rambling around the arabic theme we both agreed (my mind and moi) that a nice risotto but more pilav style was required. And since both dishes are made of rice cooked in broth and then with some extra ingredients, I thought that risotto rice would do just fine. I still had some of risotto rice that I brought from Italy last August and I love cooking with it. The beef tenderloin is the best just grilled with salt and pepper, otherwise I’d have impression that I spoiled it and probably would end up hearing Gollum’s voice screaming in my head: you spoil it! Youuuu spoil it, stupid fat hobbit!

A Thing Called Pilav

(feeds 4)

1 cup risotto rice

1 can pinapple cut in chunks

1 big onion sliced

handful raisins

1 cup pineapple juice (the one in which it was kept)

1 cup vegetable broth

2 tea spoons curry powder

1 tea spoon sweet paprica powder

salt, pepper

in the big pot pour some olive oil and give a quick fry to onion and pineapple. Add rice, give it a quick fry. Then add juice, broth, spices and raisins. Stir well, put the lid on and stimmer on a small flame for about 25 mins or until the rice is nice and done. As the pilav might get thick, add water as you go. But not too much, because it shouldn’t get too watery. Enjoy as a main course or as a side dish 😀

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in beef, food talk, pilav, pineapple, recipe, risotto, sirloin, soul food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m Dreaming of Travelling Far Away

  1. big guy says:

    looks so tasty, and colourful. steak looks good too. wish you were here so i could taste it! congratulations on another fab blog!

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Sweetie! I know but will cook for you one day!

  3. Sandra says:

    It looks delicious!!! I love that rich yellow color..

  4. Kasia says:

    Thank you Sandra 🙂 Me too 🙂 yellow makes my heart sing 🙂

  5. Yummy, yummy, YUMmy! We are only having our second snow of the winter today and I’m still loving it (nowhere to be, cozy inside). But I certainly get to where you are in the winter. What a beautiful and vibrant dish…..just like you!

    Loved your ‘with enough alcohol’ comment on my blog post! So true….

  6. ladymorgiana says:

    We in Warsaw have tons of snow and it’s really pushing my buttons… Thank you for lovely comment, you’re always so kind 😛
    I’m sorry I couldn’t resist especially as you mentioned “animal droppings” I was laughing so hard that almost fell off the armchair 🙂

Leave a Reply

