When The Brain Has Cravings….

… it’s a really serious business… I’m in the middle of exams. The end of term came upon me and our lecturers think it’s bloody enjoyable to put us through a good old exam session… what a joy šŸ˜‰ So today I took a day off from work to study some more in comfort instead of being deadly tired from work and regular working days as then studying doesn’t come easy… seriously…

In the morning I woke up thinking that I need to feed my brain in due to make sure that I would be able to put up with the day filled with learning words… didn’t I mention? I’m learning to become a sworn translator šŸ™‚ After a closer inspection of the pantry and kitchen spotted a lonely banana, bag of raisins and the bag of bran. So I figured that healthy pancakes would keep me very happy and my brain would get all vitamines and proteins it needs to learn. And believe me or not, but I learned almost 320 words today… just like that…

The pancakes are sweet without any sugar, bran gives them a nice structure and density. Banana is sliced and raisins just tossed in, so they keep shape and get nice and soaked from the batter and bananas. They are quick and irresistable treat for a healthy breakfast. Recipe is as always straight forward and needs minimum of kitchen utensils. Just toss, whisk, pour, whisk and toss some more, whisk one more time and fry… easy sneezy… so let’s go down to business:

Feed My Brain Pancakes

(makes roughly 10 small pancakes)

1 egg

100ml milk

3 tb spoons flour

1 tb spoon bran

1 flat tea spoon baking powder

1/2 packet vanilla sugar

1 banana sliced

handful raisins

In a bowl whisk egg with milk, add flour and bran and whisk until the batter resembles thick cream, baking powder, vanilla sugar and whisk again. Now add banana and raisins and mix well. Fry on the small amount of oil until golden brown from both side. Enjoy with brown sugar or cream, yogurt or anything that makes you happy.

The pics aren’t as I want them but I’m learning new camera and today was a gray and lousy day… so please excuse Yours Truly šŸ˜‰

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, banana, bran, breakfast, food talk, pancakes, raisins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to When The Brain Has Cravings….

  1. Yummy! Love you homemade pancakes, always a hit!

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Sandra šŸ™‚ There’s nothing better than homemade panackes in my humble opinion šŸ˜‰

  3. I don’t think you need to apologize for those photos–they’re great! These look delicious. Mmm … banana. Must try.

  4. ladymorgiana says:

    thank you Jean šŸ™‚ you absolutely need to try them they were good šŸ™‚

  5. These do look good & I think the pics are great. Really interesting that your studying to become a translator, fascinating stuff. I’d love to hear a little more about what that involves, be a great post no?

  6. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Anna šŸ™‚ I will give it a thought and write a post about it especially for you šŸ™‚ Yeah it is fascinanting stuff but studies are tought šŸ˜‰

  7. grace says:

    ah…nothing like some pancakes to improve the day! raisins are an interesting addition–i’ll have to try that soon!

  8. Kristen says:

    I well remember the trial of exams. You definitely need to take a break now and then. Those pancakes look delightful.

  9. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Ladies šŸ™‚ Yes Grace, the raisins are giving a nice bite to the whole thing… almost like a little surprise hidden šŸ™‚
    Kristen, this year will be filled with exams for me… so no time to take a break I’m affraid…

  10. Lorraine says:

    Mmm, this is definitely my kind of recipe! Good for you, but still a treat for the tastebuds! I thought your photo’s were beautiful…they made my mouth water!

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your sweet comments!

    Wishing you all the brain power you’ll need to get through your studies and exams!

  11. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Lorraine šŸ™‚ I love your blog it’s so lovely šŸ™‚ It’s wordpress… it generates those silly avatars, don’t ask me why šŸ˜‰

  12. mangiabella says:

    oh my goodness, these look heavenly!!!! what a thrill it is to meet you via Chef Dennis!!! I am loving your grits and your gratin too šŸ™‚ have a glorious day sweet bella, looking forward to reading more of your blog!!!!

  13. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Bella šŸ™‚ so happy you like my recipes! Chef Dennis rocks for introducing me to such amazing people!

  14. Julie m. says:

    What a beautiful stack of brain food you’ve concocted there. I love the sprinkle brown sugar over the top as well; it has me craving them right here and now! Good luck on your exams!

  15. Jessica says:

    Sometimes cravings just can’t be helped! šŸ™‚

  16. Cakewhiz says:

    My recipe for pancakes is very different but i might try yours this weekend since they look healthier and i like how poofy they are šŸ˜€

  17. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you guys šŸ™‚ Cakewhiz, don’t we all have our own pancake recipes? but those are healthy – that’s bran, bananas and raisins… yet still sinfull šŸ˜‰

  18. i’m pretty sure with these pancakes around you’ll be taking lots of breaks šŸ˜‰ they look delicious.
    good luck to your exams.

Leave a Reply

