Lost In Translation….

… that’s how I’m feeling lately… my school started a round of mid-terms exams, so instead of cooking and baking I’m revising and then revising some more and then even more. After my last post Anna asked me to tell more about my studies. And yes Dear Readers I’m lost in translation. My studies are about translations – we are being trained to become so called “sworn translators” – the institution that practically doesn’t exist neither in England or in US. Sworn translators or certified translators are those who got a certificate to translate infront of the court, or to translate the official documents such as business documentation, legal documents and so on. They are registered and have the legal obligation to keep improving their skills and knowledge (just as forensics and barristers) this way the Act on Sworn Translator guarantees that all sworn translators are always capable of doing translators of such importance as mentioned above. We are trained to translated from Polish to English and English to Polish, doing written, consecutive and a vista translations. On the top of that we learn about banking, economic theories, juriprudence, the difference about legal systems (Polish, American and British) So this weekend I’m having exams on legal and business vocabulary and theory and on juriprudence. So Dear Readers I’m totally lost in translation… and as I’m lost completely until monday I took two days off to revise well… this of course means that my brain needs a proper feeding. Today as I went to pick up some paper stock I restock as well on healthy and proper food.

For lunch my brain was craving meat, no wonder there since I’m carnivore and compeltely accepted that. My blood group is type 0, which indicates the primal need for meat… and believe me or not – meat and fish keep me nice and healthy, when I swtiched once to vegetarian I got myself sick beyond belief… so I stick to meat, preferably low fat red one…my brain loves it –  how else would I have remembered this complicated word jurisprudence???


Memory Boosting and Body Warming Wraps

(for 4 wraps)

200g low fat beef diced

100g can corn

1 tomato diced

1 small onion sliced

3 small mushrooms

1 tea spoon sambal oelek

2 tea spoons gyros spice

salt, pepper

4 tortilla wraps (big ones)

cheese

Spice the diced meat, mix well and let it stand for an hour. In the frying pan fry quickly the onion, add meat, sliced mushrooms and corn and give it all a nice fry for 5 minutes. Add tomato and fry for another 5 mins, add sambal oelek and let cook for 2 mins. Spread the cheese on the torillas and put seperately under the grill, or… use crisp plate in your microwave. When cheese melts, spread the filling, roll the wraps and cut in halves. Enjoy 🙂


About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in beef, cheese, chilli, corn, food talk, mushroom, recipe, soul food, tomato, wraps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lost In Translation….

  1. I must commend you for learning to translate, it sounds like quite a task. I would think you would need brain food such as this yummy wrap. I bet it smelled wonderful. Have a great weekend!
    -Gina-

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Gina 🙂 it is indeed and those were quite a treat 😛 it’s always so good to have an excuse to treat myself, isn’t it?

  3. This sounds fantastic!!! Love those tasty photos mmm yum!

  4. Wow…, you answered my question, thanks Kasia 🙂 Super interesting work you’ll be doing (& pretty important too), I love hearing about really different career paths, I often wonder how people get into them. Great wrap., Type O’s really need their meat 🙂 Have a great weekend & look forward to your next post 🙂

  5. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Anna 🙂 The career I chose is really fun one 🙂 important as well, but i love the idea of constant learning 🙂 yes i know nerd alarm lol

  6. grace says:

    it’s so important to keep the brain fed, and beef does such a good job of that. 🙂 your wrap sounds terrific–i particularly like the addition of corn!

  7. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Grace 🙂 it’s so true, beef does amazing job on feeding one’s brain nicely plus as I already mentioned I’m carnivore, I need my meat to keep fit 🙂

  8. Chef Dennis says:

    hi Kasia
    your wraps look so delicious! I really love the addition of corn in the wraps.
    I hope you are feeling rejuvenated, and good luck with your classes!
    Dennis

  9. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Dennis 🙂 Wow eveyone’s so wow about the addition of the corn and for me it was: hey corn is tex/mex right? right… down with it… LOL there’s so much to learn about American cusine for me lol

  10. Julie m. says:

    wow, that is impressive! I have taken foreign language but I was never good enough at it to be able to translate to that level. Good luck with your exams! This dish should definitely help out a bit; it’s delicious brain food to be sure!

  11. Kristen says:

    Those wraps sound just delicious. I can imagine that your studies are rigorous and you need good food like this for a boost. Good luck with your tests.

Leave a Reply

