Eat Pray Love….

…. I know I haven’t blogged in ages, but real life kicked in and with all the break-up hassle, exams and then finally my Nan ending up in hospital and then unexpected visit from someone special caused that the circumstances were far from normal and blogging friendly….but now things got less rocky… I started this post 3 weeks ago…. so plz read on…

…. yesterday as I was queeing in Rossmann with my hands full with beauty products, I spotted this book on the shelf… and I thought – damn wanted to read it in English but here it is teasing me, staring at me and whispering… so I took it. And I love it… the first page of the novel described the place where I was not so long ago and it hit me, this book is partially about me and probably millions of other women, but still it’s amazing that it is. Will keep you posted on how the book goes. For now I’m mesmerized.

Thank you all for kind comments, I’m fine thank you… things can get only better. And Toni you rock, seriously πŸ™‚

Becky of Baking and Cooking Two Tales of Love spoiled me rotten with this amazing award. Thank you so much you just made my day πŸ™‚

Becky and her husband have been cooking together for 10 years now, and I envy them green. Her blog is fun, full of great recipes and brilliant pictures. I’m deeply touched by her kindness and support.Β Now the rules say that you must tell 7 things about yourself, and pass the award on to ten people, so let’s get cracking.

Thing No. 1: I’m weird and proud of that

Thing No. 2: when I was a child (and up to my teenage years) my hair was blond and my eyes as black as now. I changed my haircolour after Titanic and I’m not ashamed of that.

Thing No. 3: I do belly dance, which is one of my greatest passions

Thing No. 4: I have a thing for Brits…

Thing No. 5: I’m the only child. My parents seemingly had enough of just me πŸ˜‰ How convinient.

Thing No. 6: I tend to try everything at least once…. at least when it comes to food πŸ˜›

Thing No. 7: I go to UK this weekend

Thing No. 8: I speak several languages and have no idea how come πŸ˜‰

Thing No. 9: I’m slightly obssessed with home made food. Serisouly, prepared food doesn’t just sound quite right.

Thing No. 10: I’m a great fan of Italian, French and British food… yes I know weird mixture πŸ˜‰

As my family is now in need of comfort food, I decided to cook comfort over past weekend. My mom was stuck in hospital by my Nan’s bed and I thought – mom loves noodles, noodles make people happy, mac’n’cheese make people happy so we will have mac’n’cheese. I decided for baked one and skinned it down of white sauce which is quite perverse when come with noodles – you eat flour with some more flour… you see what I mean? This recipe is as always straight forward, quick to make and not much fuss πŸ™‚ The Americans I met in Fribourg always found mac’n’cheese comforting, but somewhat theirs came from the pack…. mine come from the bottom of my heart πŸ˜‰ almost the same, right?

Comfort Me Quick Baked Mac’n’Cheese

(makes good 6 portions)

500g noodles of your choice

250-300g sour cream (not more than 18% fat)

200g mozzarella

200g smoked cheese

150g skinny bacon

2 big onions

6 cloves garlic

2 handfulls Β dried onion

Cook noodles al dente. Drain them and rinse in cold water. Butter the dish, place in noodles. In frying pan fry bacon cut in cubes, and sliced onion until nice and brown. Add the cream and the mozzarella. Stir until the cheese desolves, add pressed garlic, salt and pepper. Mix the noodles with the sauce, place in teh dish. Now grate 1/2 of smoked cheese on top. Spread the onion, grate the other half of cheese. Bake for 25mins in 200C.

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in bacon, cheese, food talk, gratin, mac'n'cheese, pasta, recipe, soul food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eat Pray Love….

  1. I am glad you are back with your yummy recipes..also I am happy to know more about you. You sound like a fun person to be around. Your meal look wonderful, comforting and delicious! Thanks you so much for sharing and have fun in UK!!!

  2. So glad to hear from you! You’ve been on my mind. Must have been getting your ‘I’m going to blog’ vibe! I love that you are so upfront about all going on for you. It’s all so healthy. I LOVE Mac and Cheese; must run in the American gene pool. And I love fusili pasta (posted some today as a matter of fact)! It’s very fun. Anxious to hear of your travels. Where will you be going I wonder…

  3. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Ladies πŸ™‚ I’m going to Colchester to visit Mr Big Guy, and Colchester is one of the oldest towns in UK as it was based in roman times. Yeah I’m very open about myself, I mean this is who I am and that shapes me and my cooking as well. Plus like that readers know real person and not just someone who’s cooking, does it make sense? Anyway, will surely post some pics and describe my trip truely…. just need to get up tomorrow for 6am flight πŸ˜‰ that’s kind of a challenge πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

