Fresh Tomatos and Fresh Start

Oh wow, sorry folks for this long hiatus, but there’s loads and loads going on in Casa di Quiantrelle. There was Easter, and May Bank Holiday and unexpected last minute trip to Colchester again and new attack of bronhitis and christening of my Cousine’s Baby Boy…. now there will be some other changes in my professional life, not mentioning that I still have school to finish, finals to pass and state exam to come my way. Simply saying it’s been bloody crazy. So I’m very very sorry to neglect you and cooking and other things.

The Summer finally came to Warsaw, what made me more than glad. Last night I went out with my Older Cousine and it was great. We found found the best little shop with Italian Food, made a picknick at the main street of Saska Kępa and had the best night in a while, Big Guy was outing as well, so when I woke up I knew that lunch will be a big deal. Was craving something healthy and tasty, with loads of fibers and vitamines to neutralize all the red wine which got in a night before. I dragged my corpse to the market and got a nice healthy portion of fresh veggies, deciding that it’s fresh tomato sauce or burst! Managed to get those lovely huge and meaty tomatos, which have hardly any water or seeds, and make the sauce look like a tasty marmolade. So I was content… and bloody hell, this sauce was a fairy tale in a mouth…

Heal Me Quick Fresh Tomato Sauce

(for hungry 3 or quite hungry 4)

1,5 kilo meaty tomatos

4 challotes or 2 onions

3 cloves garlic

200g small mushrooms, quatered

10 anchovis, cut thinly

olives, sliced

salt, pepper, herbs of your choice

Remove the skin from tomatos and chop them coarsely. Slice the onions and garlic and give them a nice fry on the olive oil. Add the mushrooms, anchovis and let the cook for 5 mins. Add tomatos and olives. Let the sauce cook on moderate flame, until the sauce reduces to the thick marmelade like consistence. This stage should take about 20-30 mins. Season with salt, pepper, bit of sugar and herbs. Serve with pasta of your choice, sprinkled with parmesan… it’s heaven in mouth!

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in cheese, food talk, pasta, soul food, tomato and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Tomatos and Fresh Start

  1. Welcome back..I missed your posts..:)
    This sound like a my kind of meal..ahh you can’t go wrong with pasta, and you made a plate full of such a wonderful comfort!
    Thank you for sharing sweetie and have a great weekend!

  2. ladymorgiana says:

    Thank you Sandra! You make me feel warm at heart!

  3. kat says:

    Have you tried Marcella Hazan’s simple tomato sauce? I love her sauce! It’s my go-to sauce because it only needs 3 ingredients! I did a post on it, please check it out and let me know what you think! I’m new to this blogging thing and I love checking out foodie blogs!
    http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/2011/07/16/i-want-me-some-meatballs-and-spaghetti/

Leave a Reply

