Kinderparty…. is Kinderparty

…. no no no, not my kid… it’s a common knowlegde that I’m childless and till quite recent rather happy about it, now I have to admit I’m giving it a little bit of thought as the bloody biological clock is ticking… but since I always believed I have time, I take it all slowly with a huge grin on my face. On the other hand everyone seems to be having kids – my friends do, my family do, even Mr Boyfriend has DD of a teenage age. I’m swimming in this ocean freely and willingly and today I baked cake for my bossom friend DD’s birthday. She’s such a lovely creature, that couldn’t deny myself such pleasure.

It’s a three layer sponge cake – one layer of jelly with fruits, two of vanilla custard butter cream. The top is covered with orange custard butter cream and red fondant. I see that there are few things I need to learn about ready made fondant but I’m getting there. Centerpiece is purple jelly with raspeberries and lots of buttercream, sugar pearls and stars. So everything that child’s heart should crave for.

I originally planned Barbie cake but somewhat baking and hot humid weather don’t mingle. Two cakes turned out to be sunken and soggy, so at 8 pm I was seen madly riding my bike to the nearest shop to restock in eggs and flour and just to bake a regular sponge b-cake. I had to call in defeat but wasn’t ready to take any more risk.

Lessons learned are that  mostly that I need more fondant and no taking risks on the hot humid day… quite value lessons I tell you 😉 but everything turned out well and everyone loved the cake. I was happy to discover that new pipping tool was a brilliant purchase and that seemingly I can pipe decorations onto the cake, which was good. Seriously… I’m quite happy of the final outcome, wanted it different but had to adjust which wasn’t bad thing, just reminded me how dynamic baking and cake decorating can be. Folks loved it and I was content… so I guess all good, what do you guys reckon?

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in baking, birthday cake, cake, cake decorating, cream, custard, jelly, lemon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kinderparty…. is Kinderparty

  1. Bear says:

    awesome cake babe. if i was there i surely would of tried eating it before it got to its destination 🙂

  2. Oh that cake looks so beautiful Kasia..so colorful and happy! Thanks you for sharing sweetie, and have a wonderful week ahead!

  3. Hosea says:

    Magnificent site. Lots of helpful information here. I’m sending it to some
    friends ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks
    in your sweat!

Leave a Reply

