Roll My Oats

Seemingly autmn is here to stay and I’m hibernating as it seems. I need more energy to make it through the day and as my four days off work (how much I love those bank holidays) seem to be regularly busy (no surprise here either) decided that a hearty brekkie is needed. Now hearty does not mean anything heavy or unhealthy, on contrary… my love to oats and oatmeal was taken to new level.

For a while I’ve been playing with oats, grinding them, using them in any possible form or in pancakes, buns or paties. But few months ago I found new great thing – oatbran. Is as good as grinded oatmeal, but more robust and seemingly they suit well to make pancakes.

Today I wanted a treat, sth to as said before keep me going but what wouldn’t really put too much on my bones (yes, neverending story about being a woman and fighting with body to behave the way I want it to behave…). Searched high and low but we seemed to run out of oatmeal but found pack of brand new oatbran, decided for bananas and dark chocolate. Perfect start into a day – full of vitamins, fiber and other goodies. Little pancakes are quick fix and really resemble a porridge in form of pancake. What else one should wish for?

Recipe is very straight forward and easy to put together even on busy morning. So without much do, here you go:

Roll My Oats Porridge Pancakes

(feed one)

3 tb spoons oatbran (like those or any other of your choice)

1 banana sliced

2 tb spoons natural yogurt of your choice

1 egg

1 tea spoon honey or muscovado sugar

1/2 tea spoon soda/baking powder

1 stripe of dark chocolate, chopped

In a bowl put oatbran, egg, yogurt, soda, honey and mix well, add sliced banana and chocolate and mix well. Fry until nice and cooked on both sides. Serve dusted with icing sugar or with honey or maple sirup or whatever else you enjoy your pancakes with. They are rather delicate so be careful while turning them in the pan.

And how do you like your porridge?

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in banana, bran, breakfast, chocolate, food talk, oatmeal, recipe, yogurt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roll My Oats

  1. davejwsbooks says:

    looks scrummy. will have to try this:)

Leave a Reply

