C’mon caramelize me

Yeah here we go again, I’m ill again and therefore stranded home. The recent period seems to be rather harsh on me and my body decided to give in. So I’m staranded and lost my appetite, but every now and again I have cravings or weird ideas. And here today I want to share with you one of those which seemed crazy but proved to be amazing morning treat, quick and rewarding.

DSCF2530

And yes you see very well it’s caramelized toast with caramelized apples. So simple and so amazing. Just a dollop of plain yoghurt as topping and perfect little brekkie is there to keep you in good spirits.

DSCF2529

I could even imagine  it as an emergency dessert in case of unexpected crowd. Because ingredients are those rather common in every household – bread and fruits of your choice to be caramelized. I had apple but bananas would be great, strawberries, pineapple or practically anything your heart craves and what could be dipped in caramel. I had just simple sour dough white bread, but I think you can use anything. Even one day old croissants or challa bread.

DSCF2525

Recipe is really straight forward, but since I know that some of you like organized recipes so here we go:

DSCF2527

Caramelized toast with caramelized apples
(feeds one)

1 apple sliced
1 tbsp butter
2 tbsp light brown sugar
1 slice of white bread of your choice
2 tbsp light brown sugar (or there about)

In the skillet melt butter, add sugar and apples and cook until apples are tender. Remove from the pan. Place the slice of bread into pan and give it a quick fry on both sides, then sprinkle the top with sugar and flop it immedietly, then repeat with other side and give it a quick fry, until the sugar melts. Transfer into the plate. Serve with apples (or any other fruits) and dollop of plain yoghurt.

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in apples, caramel, challa bread, toast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

