Weekend in Marakesh Part 1

This weekend I got into Near East Mood… the belly dancing music was buzzing In my brain, and on my stereo and the heat  that finally reached Warsaw was giving me the pleasent sensation of the Near East.  On Saturday we invited our dear friends for lunch with dinner and drinks, but more about it next time 🙂

On Saturday as well, I went to the local market to shop for some fresh products from the local producers. I was more than pleased to find the seller that had dried fruits and other goodies sold by kilos, so I got some chickpeas and seas am seeds with hummus in mind, but as soon as I reached home I came across the recipe for falafel and I knew what I’ll be cooking on Sunday.

Falafel are quite popular dish in Arabic countries. It can be made from chickpeas or broad bean. When I lived in Switzerland those were quite popular in kebab bars as a vegetarian option, here in Poland I have never seen them in such places, pity I must say. In my favourite kebab place in Fribourg “UniKebab” on Rue de Kebab falafels were always delicious, almost melting in one’s mouth… so it was the highest time to come back to the old tastes… 🙂

babies are frying :)

Falafel with Minth/Garlic Sauce (for 20 falafels)

200g of dried chickpeas

1 big onion

2 cloves garlic

1 egg

2 tb spoons fine bread crumbs

3 tb spoons flour

Chopped parsley and coriander

Salt, pepper

In a pot cover the chickpeas with cold water and let stand overnight. Cook them in the morning until soft (about 20 mins). Cool. Dice onion and garlic, add to the chickpeas, add herbs and puree everything till smooth. Add egg, breadcrumbs, flour and spices. Mix well, set aside for 30 mins in the cold place. After that form from the dough the small balls (of the size of walnut). Deep fry until golden brown (2-3 mins from each side), set on the paper towel to remove the access of the fat.

ready to eat

Minth/Garlic Sauce

250g greek youghurt

2 cloves garlic, pressed

4-6 leaves of fresh minth, finely chopped

1 tb spoon Lemon juice

1 tb spoon olive oil

Salt, pepper

Mix all ingredients together, spice with salt and pepper. Set aside for 20 mins in cold place

yum!Po Polsku

About ladymorgiana

I'm a redhair girl witch to some scientist to the others... I love cooking and baking.... what else would you like to know?
This entry was posted in food talk, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Weekend in Marakesh Part 1

  1. Pingback: Weekend w Marakeszu Część 1 | Gotująca Dandyska

Leave a comment